Award for Excellence in School Nursing

NYSASN likes to recognize school nurses in New York State who excel in their practice of school nursing. NYSASN representatives from each Zone are encouraged, not required, to present one school nurse from their Zone each year with the Award for Excellence in School Nursing. Award recipients are chosen at the Zone level providing the following criteria have been met:

(1) Currently practicing as a full-time school nurse
(2) Must be a member of NYSASN for the current and preceding two years (three consecutive years)
(3) Completed application form and biography
(4) Nomination by self, colleague or administrator

Download the EISN Nomination Form here.

Congratulations to the following School Nurses who are being recognized on

National School Nurse Day, May 10, 2017!

Zone 1: Jill McCarney, RN, BSN, MA, St Mary’s Elementary, Manhasset School District

Zone 2: Sandra Poshka, BSN, RN, Middle Country Central School District

Zone 3: Mary Fitzpatrick, BSN, RN, NCSN, PS 34, 29 Queens

Zone 4: Dianne Thomas, BSN, RN, NCSN, Roosevelt Elementary School, Ossining Union Free School District

Zone 9: Marianne Weldon, RN, Heuvelton K– 2, Heuvelton Central School District

Zone 14:  Margaret (Maggie) Bemis,  AAS, RN, Clymer Central School



2017 Excellence in School Nursing Award Winners







Zone 1: Jill McCarney

Zone 9: Marianne Weldon







Zone 2: Sandra Poshka







Zone 3: Mary Fitzpatrick







Zone 4: Dianne Thomas

Click here for a list of Previous Award Winners