President: Annette Cobb RN

Annette Cobb  has been a nurse for 37 years. She has been a school nurse in the Horseheads Central School District for the past 18 years. She served as a 1:1 nurse, Elementary and currently Middle School. Prior to that she was a substitute in other local district schools, as well as Horseheads. She is a former ICU/ER  and NICU nurse as well as Certified Case Manager. Since the Covid pandemic she has also volunteered much of her time working with  the local Chemung County Public Health Dept -assisting in calls, contract tracing, testing sites and vaccine clinics. Annette has been the Zone 11 president for the last three years, a zone member for 13 years, and a member of NASN since 2010. She was an EISN-Excellence in School Nursing award winner in 2015. She is also a member of the Horseheads Wellness team, and the Safety Committees.


President-Elect: Jill A. Kenney, AAS, RN

Jill Kenney has been a registered nurse for 33 years and a school nurse for 22 years. She is currently the school nurse in Pine Valley Jr./Sr. High School in the Pine Valley Central School District with over 200 students in grades 7 through 12.

Jill earned an AAS degree in Nursing from Jamestown Community College  in Chautauqua County, and has worked in many fields such as ICU, Medical, ER, Chemical Dependency, Cardiac Rehab, and Recovery Room.  She began working as a School Nurse at Pine Valley Central School District in 2000.

Jill has served the Far Western New York School Nurses Association Network, Zone 14 of NYSASN, as Secretary. A member of NYSASN and NASN since 2000, she joined the NYSASN Board of Directors in March 2018 as Zone 14 Rep. She has kept zone members informed on what is going on at NYSASN, and has served on several committees during this time. On February 17, 2021, she received recognition from the Chautauqua County Office of The County Executive as a “COVID-19 Hero” thanking her for her exemplary job during the COVID-19 Pandemic. This was given for continuing to work hard, keeping people informed, educated, and always going above and beyond for the students throughout the COVID-19 Pandemic. Jill was further recognized for Excellence in School Nursing on November 1, 2019, from the New York State Association School Nurses Association.


Past President: Geraldine Plechner, MS.Ed., BSN, RN

As school nurse in the Center Moriches UFSD, Gerri is responsible for the health and well-being of nursery to 8th grade students in two private schools within the Center Moriches community. She received her BS in Nursing from SUNY Binghamton, and later pursued a master’s degree in Education and also in Literacy. Gerri has volunteered for many years at the American Cancer Society’s Long Island Division oncology camp and the Empire State Games for the Physically Challenged. She currently serves as volunteerHealth Director for Camp Kids are Kids Chicago, a sleep away camp for oncology patients and their siblings. As part of their medical team, Gerri has updated their medical policies, procedures and standing orders to meet the Children’s Oncology Camp Association (COCA) gold ribbon standards. In addition, she sits on the camp’s leadership team.

Gerri has been a school nurse since 2012. She joined the Suffolk County Association of School Nurses (SCASN) and NYSASN in 2013 and has served on SCASN’s Executive Board since 2017, when she became president-elect. During her tenure as president, she served on the local zone’s NYSASN conference committee which resulted in a successful 2018 NYSASN annual conference in Stony Brook. After her tenure as president, Gerri became NYSASN’s Zone 2 representative. In 2020, Gerri received Zone 2’s Excellence in School Nursing award.


Treasurer: Teresa Ergul, AAS, BS, RN

Teresa Ergul has been a registered nurse for 36 years. She has been a school nurse for 11 years and is currently the school nurse in Moriches Elementary School in the William Floyd School District for over 800 students in grades K through 5.

Ms. Ergul has an AAS degree in Nursing from Suffolk County Community College and a BS in Health Administration from St. Joseph’s College.

She has served Zone 2 of NYSASN as a past president. Also she received the NYSASN award for Excellence in School Nursing from Zone 2. She has been the bookkeeper for her family business, a wholesale produce company, for the past 30 years and is currently the Treasurer for her district’s nursing unit.


Secretary: Kathy Varieur, MST, BS, RN, NCSN

Kathy served as the previous Zone 5 Representative for NYSASN,  before being appointed as Secretary in February.  Kathy was a Critical Care, and Rehabilitation nurse before joining the North Rockland Central School District 7 years ago as a nurse at the high school level.  She has now served as the Director of Health Services for the school district for the last two years, where she oversees the practice of 14 nurses, sits on many committees, and helps to write policies for the district.




Committee Chairs


Advocacy ChairVacancy

Bylaws Chair – Vacancy

Communications LiaisonJoan Verardo, BS, RN

Conference ChairOswaldo Luciano, MSN, MS, RN, MEDSURG-BC, NPD-BC

Membership ChairVacancy

National Association of School Nurses DirectorLou Ann Gleason, MSN, RN

Promotions ChairPatricia Hartman, BSN, RN

Public Relations ChairGail Hall, DPL, RN

School Nurse Orientation ChairO. Jeanne Dolly, MSN, FNP-C, SNT

Zone Representatives Click here for a list of the Zone Representatives.


New York State Center for School Health –  Melissa Trau, BSN, RN


WebmasterJulie Schwartz/Wyndjammr Design